Israel Wolf Prize in Physics and Chemistry. The science of ultra-fast lasers. – Valley of Israel

Since 1978 Wolf Award they are granted annually Israel Wolf Foundation high-level artists and scientists from around the world. The purpose of this fund is to promote outstanding achievement in science and art. In science, prizes are awarded in five disciplines: medicine, agriculture, mathematics, physics and chemistry. Also in physics and chemistry, The Wolf Prize is often considered the most prestigious prize after the Nobel Prize. The prize includes a certificate and a cash prize of $ 100,000. To date, 345 scientists and artists from around the world have received this recognition.

The Wolf Foundation has announced the winners of this prestigious 2022 Wolf Prize in Physics, honored for their significant contribution in the fields of ultra-fast laser science and attosecond physics.

Among the co-winners of this award are Anne L’Huillier, a French and Swedish researcher from Lund Universitytogether with Paul Cork of the University of Ottawa, Ferenc Krauss of the Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics and Ludwig Maximilian of the University of Munich.

Anne L’Huillier, a professor of atomic physics and a researcher at NanoLund, is a world-renowned physicist in the field of experimental attosecond physics. As part of her research, Anne L’Huillier uses laser technology to create incredibly short light pulses (parts per second or parts per second). This work provides an opportunity to study the motion of electrons inside atoms and molecules.

Becoming a winner of the 2022 Wolf Prize, Professor Anne L’Huillier becomes the first woman to receive this award in 44 years.

Darell Goodwin

"Beer fanatic. Tv evangelist. General music specialist. Coffee lover. Social media fan. Friendly travel practitioner."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.