The online messaging platform WhatsApp has added some new features over the past two days. First, the app introduced a new privacy setting that allows users to better control who can see their profile photo, last seen, and info section. Second, WhatsApp has released several call updates for the WhatsApp group. Read on to learn more about the new WhatsApp features.
WhatsApp is releasing a new profile photo privacy setting
2022 June 16 WhatsApp has announced through its official Twitter handle that it is introducing a new privacy settings option. So far, users have only had three privacy options related to their profile photo, last seen and info section – No one, my contacts, everyone. WhatsApp users will now be able to hide their profile photo or last seen status from specific users of the platform using My contacts except Privacy setting. The My contacts except WhatsApp’s privacy setting has been available for quite some time, but only to determine the status.
🔒 To further protect your online privacy, we’re introducing new options for privacy management settings 🔒
You can now choose who from your contact list can see your profile photo, “About” and “Last Viewed” status. For more information, click this link: https://t.co/UGMCx2n70h
– WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) 2022 June 15
New group call features released
In the future, WhatsApp users will be able to mute other participants during a group call. In addition, when participating in a group chat, users will also be able to send a message to specific users. In addition, WhatsApp will also display a banner if the user logs in off-screen. All of these features are available to WhatsApp users on both Android and iOS. However, it may take some time for them to be available to all users.
☎️ We’ve added some of WhatsApp’s favorite updates! For group calls, you can now:
🔇 Mute others
✉️ Write to specific people
🙋 See a banner when someone logs out of the screen
– WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) 2022 June 16
The WhatsApp group membership confirmation feature is running
WABetaInfo noticed a group membership confirmation feature was being developed for Android. The publication states that group administrators will be able to enable or disable this feature as they wish. This feature will also provide a new group information section that can only be accessed by administrators. This section will contain controls for viewing and managing group join requests sent through group invitations. It is important to note that group membership is confirmed after WhatsApp recently increased the maximum number of users that can be added to a group to 512
“Bacon fanatic. Social media enthusiast. Music practitioner. Internet scholar. Incurable travel advocate. Wannabe web junkie. Coffeeaholic. Alcohol fanatic.”