Zimbabwe beat Netherlands in T20 World Cup Qualifier Final | Cricket news

BULAWAYO: Hosts Zimbabwe beat the Netherlands by 37 points in the final of the World Twenty20 qualifying tournament on Sunday and will play Ireland, Scotland and the West Indies in the final.
The Netherlands have also qualified for the tournament in Australia from October 16 and are drawn in the other first round group with Namibia, Sri Lanka and the United Arab Emirates.
The winners and runners-up in each section advance to the Super 12 stage, joining title holders Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa.
The defeat of the Dutch confirmed Zimbabwe as the dominant team in the southern city of Bulawayo, winning all five matches under new coach Dave Houghton, including three in Group A and the semi-finals.
The visitors batted first for the fifth time in a row, adding 132, with only number three batsman Sean Williams (28) and opener Regis Chakabva (27) scoring more than 20 runs.
Sikandar Raza, so often the top scorer, played with the ball instead, picking up four Dutch wickets and losing just eight runs in a four-wicket spell that included a maiden.
In response, the Dutch fared even worse with the bat than the home side, apart from opener Stephan Myburgh (22) and middle-order Tej Nidamanura (21), to reach 95.
Bas de Leede, who made an unbeaten 91 in the semi-final triumph over the United States, managed just one run before being caught leg by Wesley Madhevere.

Ferdinand Medina

"Internet evangelist. Twitter fanatic. Hardcore entrepreneur. Incurable analyst. Extreme food junkie. Unapologetic tv maven. Reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.